Tags

, , ,

This weekend hasn’t been quite as productive as I would have liked – I received a whole box full of new bits of horn, antler and bone last Tuesday and still haven’t really had a good chance to get into the workshop and make something of them.

However, I have still managed some bits and pieces, even though most of Sunday was taken up with constructing new bookshelves for the ever expanding Early Medieval library.

Slinger Bottles

These are wooden weights, turned from apple wood, for making a 4 play braid, similar to those found at Caistor-by-Norwich in the Saxon cemetery. It is possible to make this braid by hand, but looks better and can get the public involved if you set it up from a horizontal bar and use wooden weights passed back and forth between two people.

Bone Needles

While wooden or metal needles can be used for wool work, there is something quite satisfying about seeing someone use a bone needle – an my wife swears that her favourite bone needle is the perfect one for naalbinding.

So, in an effort to try and get more people to use bone needles, I produced a few short, flat needles perfect for wool working.

Previous Work: Needle Case and Box

Around about the time I started this blog, I also made a nice little wooden box, held together with decorative copper nails and a bone needle case based on my interpretation of a find from Birka. Finally I have edited photos, so here they are.

The box is just a small, quite plain pine box for storing some valuables inside another chest. There is no lock as the main chest will be locked and thus this one does not need to be.

Unfortunately the picture isn’t perfect, but I had limited time to photograph the case before I had to pack it up for the post. The original find was simply a hollow bone with a bronze ring. Having made a few of these over the years, my simplest interpretation is that there was a wooden plug in the base and a leather bung secured to the ring in the top. This is supported by a few finds where the base is closed with an iron plug.

