Tags

, , , , ,

Once again things have taken over my updating of this blog šŸ˜¦ I am still here and still making things but just don’t seem to get around to posting as often as I would like, I really need to get into the habit of posting at least a small something once a week (I used to be really good at that on a previous blog but somehow don’t seema ble to get into the habit here).

Re-enactors markets

So, since my last post there have been a few minor Ā things happening.Ā Despite having been a re-enactor now for over 10 years, a variety of circumstances have prevented from ever going to one of the various large markets that are on, but this year we managed to get to both The Original Re-enactors Market (TORM) and the National Living History Fayre (NLHF). Both of these are reasonable sized markets full of traders stocking all kinds of re-enactment and LARP orientated goodies. TORM is the more “serious” of the two – much less in the way of obvious LARP equipment and much higher general quality of goods, though both markets have their pros and cons. I was not disappointed. NLHF takes up two large indoor arenas at an equestrian centre and TORM occupies two sports halls at a leisure centre. Between the two of them there were weapons stalls, blacksmiths, bookshops, shoes makers, leather and fur suppliers, cloth merchants, potters and a whole host of other more general traders. One of the most interesting I found was a stand which basically sells all kinds of materials for other crafts, including bones. During the day I managed to pick up a few reasonable raw materials, a new spearhead, a rather lovely pot and some other goodies, so all in all a worthwhile , if long, trip (it was about 5 hours drive each way).

Playing on the lathe – Roman style

My current love of the lathe continues unabated, and still mostly Roman orientated. I know my last post mentions wanting to try making bone hinges, but as so often happens with me, I went off at a tangent and actually tried to make pyxides. A pyxis is a small lidded vessel, often made from boxwood but also at times from bone, ivory etc. I decided that it would be good practise for honing my skills at turning bone so I made a few. One of them even stayed intact (the others were going very nicely and then split :/ ).

simple pyxis

They are not particularly difficult to make, but do require a certain degree of skill and forward planning to make sure that they work correctly. I have taken photographs of the various stages and at some point will post a how-to (unlike in the past I make no promises – it may be next week or it may be in 6 months).

As well as playing with pyxides, I also started to work on hairpins and turned out a couple of simple designs.

hairpin

Again it was more for practise rather than producing something of amazing complexity. However, since I made these I have managed to obtain a complete set of mini turning chisels specifically designed for pen and bobbin turning which should make similar projects in the future easier and neater, as well as allowing to make items that are more delicate – trying to turn very thin bone and using a 1″ skew on it doesn’t really work for me!

Viking Weaving Comb

Even though the majority of my crafting has been Roman based, I have not totally ignored my usual period. The latest addition to my range of assorted viknig and Saxon goodies is an antler weaving comb based on a find from Birka.

birka weaving comb

So for now that’s it for now, hopefully I will get around to posting again sooner rather than later!

Halldor

